Shaming, Calling Out, and a Harsh TONE

My critics, of which I have few since usually I just go ignored, tell me that it’s my tone that needs to change.  That shaming others is not really effective.  That calling out the sinners to face their need to repent is not helpful.

And I was thinking they were just about to crack!

I will grant that not all prophecy/prophetic messages are matters of shaming, calling out, or harsh tone.  And I will grant that the biblical prophets did not typically get a hearing and affect positive change (certainly not within their own lifetimes).  But I expect my critics to grant that I speak for God – and if not then to rebut me with scripture to show me otherwise.

I hate to think that you might stand in judgment because I did not warn you (Ezek. 3:16-21).  I also hate to think that you might stand in judgment because you were offended by my “tone.”

I wonder what that cross-examination will sound like: “But Holy Lord, Your Honor, I know he spoke Your message, and I would have listened and adhered to it, but his tone… you see, his tone was too harsh.”

I don’t normally wish people “good luck,” but in this instance I will make an exception.

Good luck with that.

2 comments

  1. jenniferca01 · November 29, 2015

    I always love and respect your point of view. Thank you for writing your blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: We Aren’t Asking For Your Money | Fat Beggars School of Prophets

Leave a Reply

