The Letters

I just now returned from the matinee showing of The Letters.  Of course, I recommend it!  My thumbs are up!  Gets all my stars!

This movie reaches deep in me and makes me want to be a better person.

Mother Teresa, the movie would have us believe, would not want us to sing her praises.  In honor of that ideal, I will not use her name again in this post.  She would point us to God.  She is merely an instrument – a pencil in his hand.

I cannot help but note she was a trouble-maker, however she never raised her voice.  Was she a BAD Catholic?  I suppose that depends on who you ask and when.  At this point in history, the answer is profoundly NO.  But her single-minded determination to serve the poorest of the poor with the love of God obviously still breaks through barriers set up by the church, the parents of her pupils, and even the poor themselves.

Rather than champion her name and honor her personal legacy, I point any who would read here to the same Jesus she served.  She shows us that there is a WEALTH of JOY and SURPRISE and IMAGINATION ripe and ready to be had in connecting the love of God to the suffering of the poor.  I hope the ministry God gives me only points there too.

The movie kept humbling me in tears.  And when it was over, I bumped into Father O’Connor, the priest, formerly of St. Elizabeth’s, where I was confirmed before I became a bad Catholic.  Btw, I admire Father O’Connor too.

2 comments

  1. Ryan · December 5, 2015

    I hadn’t heard of this movie before seeing your post. Thanks, I intend to watch. When I think about mother Teresa I think about “Jesus. . . in the distressing disguise of the poor.” Always enjoy what you write here Agent X.

    Like

  2. Agent X · December 5, 2015

    I read a movie review on a blog (I gave it my thumbs and stars, but that does not make me a movie reviewer really) that picked apart the film as being too generous to her. I really don’t doubt the poetic license of filmmakers, and I certainly can smell the mad rush to Saint Hood as this film will help fan that flame. I am sure Mamma T (as Shane Clainborne calls her) was ever bit as much fallen humanity as the rest of us. And it is true the film makes NO effort to show us any of that.

    That said, I stick to my original post. Her story makes me want to be a better person. And besides, I am also sure that though some of her critics would be right to criticize her part of the time, I am also sure she makes a fine example of a Christian life. I am sure the film pays tribute to the minister God raised up in that little lady. I am inspired. I think you will be too.

    Thanks, also, for your kind words to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

