It’s EASTER SUNDAY! JESUS IS RISEN!!! and then…

We dressed up in our fresh Spring outfits, raced to worship, watched multimedia, dramatized illustrations of the impact of an Empty Tomb on the world and our lives!  The preacher even made a firm point to tell us this is the most certain truth there is in life!

And then…

As I drove away from church, I passed at least 3 (probably more I did not notice) men (HOMELESS MEN) selling newspapers on different street corners on my way home.

And I wonder…

Is Jesus honored by all that color, praise, worship, and multimedia dramatizations that gripped my imagination so powerfully a few minutes ago?  And what difference does his resurrection make in the lives of those homeless men making a buck off us church people as we leave that service?  Does it cheer them?  Does it make them more fit for citizenship in heaven?  Did it make us more fit for citizenship in heaven?

I am actually puzzled on this.  Not sure of anything.

But I am sure that if those homeless men had been invited to reimagine the world where they did not need to be making a buck (at least not from these people at this hour), and if they had been invited instead to be at the worship service glorifying Jesus, AND if they had then accepted that invitation, THEN I would be certain and not puzzled.

Of course that would depend on those men accepting that invitation.

But that, in turn, would depend on us making the invitation.

And that, in turn yet again, would depend on us imagining it.

And THAT IS a FIRM POINT and a CERTAIN TRUTH.

2 comments

  1. Ronald S. Exum · March 27, 2016

    Challenging

    Like

  2. Ryan · March 29, 2016

    I really appreciate the challenging things you write. (Sorry I haven’t been more engaging lately. . . I’ve been flattened by life’s steam roller!) Keep it up bro!

    Like

Leave a Reply

