Behold! Jesus Stands at the Door and Knocks

Did you ever read about a shepherd of a flock who left the 99 on a hill in search of one lost lamb, who found that lost lamb and a bunch of others and brought them back to the fold, but then found that the fold was locked up?

That is what this blog is all about.

It does not compute.  I really cannot understand it.  How did this come to be?  What can you do with it?

Well, I, for one, knock on that locked up, sheepfold door.  And when that door is not answered and the lost sheep not admitted, I pray.  I go to “meetings” with sheepfold leadership.  And when the door remains locked up still, I turn to prophetic imagination.

I don’t hate the sheepfold.  I love the sheepfold.  I was working on behalf of the Good Shepherd’s Sheepfold when I went out searching, and there seemed to be no dispute then.

The sheepfold is the hope of the sheep!  I have never lost sight of that.

I never stopped loving the sheepfold or serving there. 

In Revelation 3:20, Jesus says, “Behold!  I stand at the door and knock.  If you open up, I will come in and eat with you?”

Who wants to ignore that guest!  But woe to you, if you do not recognize the day of your visitation… if he arrives in the skin of a humble Galilean or as one of “the least of these…”  Woe to you if you lose your reason to be…

What does love for the sheepfold look like then?  How does it act in that case?

Prophetic imagination suggests that it is the sheepfold standing in need of ministry now.  But the ministry is confrontational.  But that does not make it unloving.  But it is pounding on that door.

 

Leave a Reply

