A Prophet’s Prayer

This weekend marks the first anniversary for this blog.  It’s not really that big a deal, I don’t think, but I do notice and care.  Still, I expect to be too busy to post.  So, I want to get a quick post in now before I miss a chance.

Today, I want to post my routine prayer for the homeless of my community and the community with them.  This routine has morphed and grown and includes a lot more than I will share here now, but the part I share is the more relevant part (for purposes of this blog).  Also, I published this prayer in the Fat Beggar’s Spot, the Revolutionary Rag I used to circulate on the streets of Lubbock.  So, actually, it has been publicized before.

I hope my readers here will join me in this prayer.

 

 

Morning Prayers

 

I have a regular routine of prayer that I want to share with you. I use this routine, especially, when I am driving to work in the morning – a path that takes me along Marsha Sharp Freeway [Now days I live in a different area and travel to yet another place of work, so this location has changed] from West Lubbock to East Lubbock and past downtown. It goes like this:

 

As I start my car in the morning and let it warm up, I pray:

 

Hear O Israel, the LORD our God is one, and you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength. (Duet. 6:4)

 

Then after a moment of silence:

 

Our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name. May Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth like it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our debt as we forgive those with debt against us. Lead us not to temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Yours is the kingdom, the power, and the glory forever. Amen. (Matt. 6:9-13).

 

Then as I reflect on all my friends sleeping in the streets of Lubbock I say:

 

Thank You, God, for the warm, dry bed I had to sleep in last night. Thank You for the wonderful woman I have to share it with. Thank You for our home, our food, and our good kids.

 

Then I reflect on the car I am sitting in. A 1984 Volvo that runs great.  It was a free gift that I paid no money for at all. [Now days I drive a 2003 Lincoln LS which also was a free gift from God!]  And I say: Thank You God for this car that takes me to work and to every other place I need to go.

 

And finally, I thank God for my dad living just a few blocks away. He is a blessing to me and now lives close enough that I can look in on him when he needs me.

 

 

Then, as I pull on to the freeway, I begin to sing:

 

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases.

His mercies never come to an end.

They are new every morning.

Great is thy faithfulness.

The LORD is my portion says my soul.

Therefore I will hope in Him.                                              – Lamentations 3:22-24

 

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

Cast me not away from Your presence, O LORD.

Take not Your Holy Spirit from me.

Restore unto me the joy of my salvation and renew a right spirit within me.

– Psalm 51:10-12

 

O LORD our LORD how majestic is Your name in all of the earth.

O LORD our LORD how majestic is Your name in all of the earth.

O LORD… We praise Your name.

O LORD… We magnify Your name.

Prince of peace, Mighty God, O LORD God Almighty.      – inspired by Psalm 8

 

At about this point, I begin to see the downtown district along the South side of the freeway. I begin to reflect on the school of prophets out there waking up in those streets and I pray:

 

Father, remember Your prophets today. Be with them. Comfort them, of course. Bless them, of course. But especially, I pray, that You express Yourself through them today in Your mighty mysterious way that by bearing Your image they will draw all of Lubbock to You afresh.   Particularly God, I ask you to be with Thomas, Mark, Jerry, and Jason, Heather & Dennis, Ricardo, Ishmael, George, Belinda & Leo, Pedro & Sylvia, Charles & Autum, Aaron, and Aaron, Dustin, Justina, Andy, Jeremy, Damien, John, Gina, Jessica (and her friends from Denver), Erica & Rudy, Faith & Mike, Samuel & Jenny, James [RIP] & May, Lee & Suzy, Mary, Tex, Matt, Ryan, Roadkill and Scarlett …and so many others of which this list is only a small representation. Bless and keep them today Father.  Give them Your joy, Your peace, Your comfort, and Your hope!  But in their suffering, to the extent that they do suffer, I ask You to express Yourself through them, so that they can bear Your image in this community!  I ask You to call Lubbock to You afresh in Your mighty, mysterious way, through them – like you did those beggars of old [see II Kings 6 & 7] and bring Your kingdom to bear on Lubbock in their midst – even going so far as to turn our economy on its head so that it benefits everyone!

 

This is a sample of my regular prayer. And as one who cares for your soul(s) and the streets of Lubbock, I want you to know that I regularly pray for you – many of you specifically by name. And I thank God for you.

 

Imagine That!

 

One comment

  1. Amy Murphy · May 27, 2016

    Looking out at you through the tears, I thank you, Agent X. And I care, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

