To my friends who are relieved today

Thank you to BrookeM at Compassion is a Journey blog for tipping me off to this blog post. As a foster parent, I must say that my kids are white, black, and brown (so far), and I love each one as if they were Jesus himself! I am very concerned for my church and the role it has both played and NOT played in this election, and I think a post like this just might open the imagination to possibilities we need to explore.

Please read it!

bridginghope

I love you guys. I know you were afraid. You were afraid that the America you knew was falling apart. Maybe you were really worried about our national debt. Maybe you were worried about the lives of unborn babies. Maybe you were worried that your church would lose its tax-exempt status because it understands marriage as being between one man and one woman. You care about your kids, and you were worried about what liberal Supreme Court justices would do. Maybe you were worried about terrorism. You were scared for your families and your children and the potential influx of Muslim refugees. You were worried about getting and keeping a job, and providing for your family because of immigration. Or maybe you were just worried about having Hillary for president because of those emails.

View original post 779 more words

One comment

  1. John Lewis · November 10

    Know that the Jesus we love was represented NO WHERE in this election. Put very simply…to vote for Hillary was certainly not a vote for Jesus. A vote for trump was also certainly not a vote for Jesus.

    I am not a fan of trump. I am not a fan of Hillary. I am a lover of Jesus. my faith is in Him. He is Lord.

    The apostle John says that “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.”‭‭1 John‬ ‭4:18‬ ‭ESV‬‬. I’ve heard it said that if you perfect your fear, you will cast out all love. In America, no matter what color or group we are, we are well trained and very good at perfecting our fear. If we are followers of Christ, then let’s perfect our love and cast out the fear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

