Taking the Plunge

Fat Beggars invites our readers to take the Plunge with Mackenzie and see what it’s all about.

Snippets and Daydreams

There were times during Urban Plunge when I wanted to say, “okay, this is enough. I give up, I don’t want to do this anymore.” I wanted to shower, I wanted to sit, I wanted a cup of tea and I wanted solitude. I didn’t want to wander around the city streets anymore; I just wanted to rest.

Then I realized that that was the point, and it was only a glimpse. We only scratched the surface of homelessness.

We heard stories, we walked through cold rain for miles, and we waited outside until we were allowed to eat. We got turned away from bathrooms because you have to buy something in order to use the restroom at 90% of the places we went to. We saw drug deals go down. We saw people selling individual cigarettes outside shelters. We saw people asking for money. We saw people sleeping in…

View original post 1,255 more words

3 comments

  1. T. F. Thompson · December 30

    I think we have to live in both worlds, the same as Jesus did. On one hand, he was with his Father. On the other, he was here with us. And after doing what he came here to do, he checked out of here. I think part of this was because it might have been difficult to be with people insomuch we are so carnal.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Agent X · December 30

    Some of the theologians I read would describe the concept you describe here using the term “Cruciform”. Where you have a _____ (fill in the blank) “on the one hand” and _____ (fill in the blank) “on the other”. You use the word “worlds” here, which technically complicates my point, but I sense we could plug in terms like “cultures” in its place and still make sense of your comment. Anyway, assuming my point gels with yours, when you reach out with the one hand in one direction and reach out with the other hand in the other direction and grasp the human hearts that otherwise never intersect there, then you make yourself vulnerable (to say the least) as you become the glue that holds these two “worlds”, “cultures”, opposing forces or whatever … as you hold them together while they tear you apart.

    Perhaps this is the more abstract meaning of Luke’s version of “take up your cross and follow…” since he describes it as something you do “daily”. St Mark does not use the word “daily” and makes it sound like picking up your cross and following Jesus is not metaphorical or symbolic in nature but a real, physical cross on which you literally die. But Luke’s “daily” turns it into a lifestyle, one that still might get you killed, probably will get you shunned, and certainly brings healing amid pain, shame, and despair.

    Glad to have your comment! Hope my response elaborates yours instead of missing your point.

    Like

  3. Agent X · December 30

    I hope some of the people I reblogged will come visit here and join the conversation(s) they helped to start! And I hope some of my regular readers will join as well. (And for those of you who read quietly from the sidelines… you are welcome too. I will not beat up differing opinions without respect where respect is due.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

