Deuteronomy 15-16

I keep finding insightful blogs on homelessness tonight! Here is another that definitely gets the Fat Beggars Amen.

bible with us

There’s a cold snap going on right now. Cold. The soil in the garden is frozen, the water dripping off my car turned to icicles. I can’t help but think about the people scattered around my neighborhood and the streets nearby that will sleep outside in this weather. Often my heart feels burdened and I wonder what I can do, but other times, it’s followed by thoughts that disclaim their situation. There are shelters nearby, they just don’t want to follow the rules to stay there. A lot of those people are living house-less by choice. Homeless ministry has stayed heavy on my heart over the years, because I hate feeling unsafe and having warm feet is really important to me. Also, because Jesus cares about it a lot and I want to be compassionate about the same things as him. I noted these verses today:

“Give generously to the poor, not…

View original post 378 more words

2 comments

  1. T. F. Thompson · January 6

    Wonderful words, but the shame is that instead of being generous, society’s answer is to serve eviction notices to the poor and the homeless. To many if not most, the homeless are despised because the viewer knows they could so easily be THEM! Thank God for the love of Jesus. Homeless and lepers alike: he loves us all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

