NAMES on the Walls of My Heart

I was a kid when they opened the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington D.C.  There was a lot of controversy over it at the time; it seemed a bit plain at first blush… just a wall… but a wall with names… names that haunt us.  Names that you can pencil on a piece of paper if you go there.

Ever since, I note memorials seem to engrave THE NAMES.  Go to the 9/11 Memorial in NYC – they got names too.  The names remind us!  The names haunt us.  The names connect us…

It’s kinda ironic that when I go to church and meet new people (or when new people come and meet us) someone always says, “I forget names… Never forget a face, but can’t remember names…”.  (Yeah, I have trouble with that too.)  But when someone remembers your name, that feels special.

I have a memorial wall with a list of names.  Names I pray for every day.  Names of foster children (I cannot reveal) and names of beggars, bums, and prophets from the streets.  Only it ain’t really a wall, it’s a prayer list.  The list just keeps growing.  It is difficult to pray for them all.  It is difficult to remember them all.  Some of them are dead now, but I have not taken their names off my memorial-wall, prayer list.  They all haunt me, every night when I lay my head on my pillow; I know they are OUT THERE.

I will now share the names on this blog roll wall.  I hope you will pray for them too…

 

Thomas*     Mark**     Jerry     Jason

Heather     Dennis     Ricardo     Ishmael

George***     Belinda     Leo     Pedro***

Sylvia***     Charles*     Autum*     Aaron

Aaron     Dustin     Justina     Jeremy

Andy**     Damien     John     Gina***     Mike

Faith     Erica     Rudy     Daniel & Jennifer

Steve-O     Patty     Samuel     Jenny****

James**** & May     Lee     Suzy     Jessica*** (and her friends from Denver)

Matt     Mary     Tex      Ryan

Kathy     Roadkill     Scarlett     Harry

Kate     Happy*

 

I have met each one of these people when they were homeless and living on the streets of Lubbock.  Some I only met once or twice.  Some have stayed in my home.  Some I can hardly remember.  There are a LOT more that I don’t remember and more yet that I have never met.

Do you recall that old Sally Fields movie Places In The Heart?  Recall how some of the characters died as the story unfolded, but at the end, in the last scene the family goes to church.  And there on the pews with the living are the dead, killers and victims side-by-side communing in worship in Spirit with the living.  That is what praying is like for me.  The foster kids that have left my care and the bums and beggars who are near and dear to my heart all join me in Spirit in that place of prayer.

If you are homeless, or if you know someone who is homeless, I invite you to leave the name on this post.  And then I invite all my readers from all over the world to pray for these names – even if only once.  Go to that garden of prayer and look around and see them all join you there.  I want to introduce you to a few friends of mine.  They go by another name too, one you need to know:  JESUS (Matt. 25:40).

 

* last known status: “off the streets” (YAY!)

** last known status: in jail or prison

*** unknown status (more than 2 years)

**** confirmed status: deceased

13 comments

  1. R Exum · January 23

    I find these words, powerful.

    Amen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. John Lewis · January 23

    Beautiful post brother. Just prayed for your wall.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. smsmith · January 23

    Amen, brother.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Larry Who · January 23

    I pray lists like that, too. It’s my way of putting God in remembrance of these people and others.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan Irene Fox · January 25

    I have, before this moment, kept the names of people I pray for on 3×5 cards in a pretty little box. Today, I will move them onto a wall so I can see them every minute of every day.

    Thank you. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Debi · January 31

    Thanks so much for this post. I confess that I forget to pray, and when I do remember, I don’t feel that I do it well. I have, in the past, tried keeping a prayer journal, but then failed to refer to it. I like Susan’s idea of a 3×5 card for each person’s name, and then having the cards on a wall where I can see and remember them. I will pray for your friends. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agent X · January 31

      Debi!

      Been missing you…

      Thanx for commenting. I wish you were here. We could pray together. Prayer seems difficult for a lot of folx. That is a common problem. And you are in good company… Just look at Peter, James, and John in the Garden with Jesus. They keep falling asleep while Jesus prays all night.

      I always pray Shema and Lord’s prayer every day and then I add to those. But these names… there are so many… And I keep adding to the list.

      These names are permanently on my list, but I frequently add temps to the list. That helps me manage it a bit. But the perms keep piling on too, actually. When I started, I had four. Four guys who joined the Fat Beggars! But over time, a lot more have passed through this ministry in one way or another. And sometimes I just cant remember each one. And I have to ask God to remember them for me. He knows every hair on every head, he rmembers those I forget, and he knows by name all those I haven’t even met. So, really, this list is just a sampling to remind him to care too.

      Again, thanx for stopping in. I have been wondering about you…

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Debi · January 31

    Thanks for thinking of me and missing me. I’m spending less time online lately — going to PT and finally walking (hobbling) after 12 weeks of no weight-bearing at all on my left leg. Thanks be to God for his physical healing too.

    Yes, and I am grateful that God remembers when I forget. ♥

    Like

  8. Pingback: I Pray for Dead Prophets & Ministries | Fat Beggars School of Prophets
  9. The Gathering Journal · February 16

    WOW! What a powerful post! I’m going to put in on our site tomorrow! Thanks again for the reminder.-anita

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: NAMES on the Walls of My Heart | The Gathering Journal
  11. Pingback: I PRAY FOR DEAD PROPHETS & MINISTRIES… | The Gathering Journal
  12. Pingback: Adding Names to the Prayer List | Fat Beggars School of Prophets

Leave a Reply

