Closing Your Eyes on the Poor

Wow! A rare confession… I am so impressed! May God bless you for this… by this. I pray this blog post bring conviction and inspiration to those who read here. What an awesome example for others to follow? And then to challenge and change the world!

expressyourself4him

Poverty is something you can be born into, forced into by extreme conditions or reached by a series of bad decisions.  Upon graduating from college, I went into social work.  I spent two days a week as a youth director at a church in Rising Sun, Maryland and the rest of my time as a Program Coordinator for the Methodist Action Plan in the inner city of Wilmington, Delaware.  I made just enough to eat and put gas in my car.  To save money I slept on a couch in my sister’s basement for 6 months.  Essentially, I was poor, unable to fulfill my goals in life on my own.  When my church home Cornerstone heard of my plight, a love offering was taken prior to my departure for a youth ministry trade school.  Without any previous conversation, this gift was exactly what I needed to attend this school.

Those…

View original post 244 more words

Leave a Reply

